Featured Post

9th August 2016 Current Affairs Questions and Answers

9th August 2016 Current Affairs MCQs, Quiz, Questions : Current Affairs for August 2016 ,  Daily Multiple Choice Questions (MCQs) for In...

Equator passes through which countries ?

Through which one of the following groups of countries does equator pass? (IAS Pre 2006)
A. Brazil, Zambia and Malaysia
B. Columbia, Kenya and Indonesia
C. Brazil, Sudan and Malaysia
D. Venezuela, Ethiopia and Indonesia
Answer: B
Explanation: The equator passes through 13 countries in world. Equator traverses the land of 11 countries and two island nations, though without making a landfall in either. Starting from Ecuador, the Equator passes through following 13 Countries:

  1. Ecuador
  2. Colombia
  3. Brazil
  4. Sao Tome and Principe
  5. Gabon
  6. Republic of The Congo
  7. Democratic Republic of The Congo
  8. Uganda
  9. Kenya
  10. Somalia
  11. Maldives (the equator passes through the territory but not on dry land)
  12. Indonesia
  13. Kiribati (the equator may or may not touch dry land)

1 comment: