Featured Post

9th August 2016 Current Affairs Questions and Answers

9th August 2016 Current Affairs MCQs, Quiz, Questions : Current Affairs for August 2016 ,  Daily Multiple Choice Questions (MCQs) for In...

Montreux Record and Ramsar Convention on Wetland

Montreux Record and Ramsar Convention on Wetland: Ramsar Convention on Wetland was held in Ramsar, Iran, in 1971, is an intergovernmental treaty which provides the framework for national action and international  cooperation for the conservation and wise use of wetlands and their resources. There are presently 158 Contracting Parties to the Convention, with 1758 wetland  sites, totaling 161 million hectares, designated for inclusion in the Ramsar List of Wetlands of International Importance. Ramsar Convention is the only global environment treaty dealing with a particular ecosystem. The Ramsar Convention on Wetlands was developed as a means to call international attention to the rate at which wetland habitats were disappearing, in part due to a lack of understanding of their important functions, values, goods and services. Governments that join the  Convention are expressing their willingness to make a commitment to helping to reverse that history of wetland loss and degradation. The text of the Convention  and other details can be accessed on Ramsar Convention's website ( www.ramsar.org). World Wetlands Day which is celebrated each year on 2 February, marks the date of the adoption of the Convention on Wetlands on 2 February 1971, in the Iranian
Major obligations of countries which are party to the Convention are:
  • Designate wetlands for inclusion in the List of Wetlands of International Importance.
  • Promote, as far as possible, the wise use of wetlands in their territory.
  • Promote international cooperation especially with regard to transboundary wetlands, shared water systems, and shared species.
  • Create wetland reserves.
Montreux Record
  • Montreux Record under the Convention is a register of wetland sites on the List of Wetlands of International Importance where changes in ecological character have occurred, are occurring, or are likely to occur as a result of technological developments, pollution or other human interference. It is maintained as part of the Ramsar List.
  • The Montreux Record was established by Recommendation 4.8 of the Conference of the Contracting Parties (1990). 
  • Resolution 5.4 of the Conference (1993) determined that the Montreux Record should be employed to identify priority sites for positive national and international conservation attention. Sites may be added to and removed from the Record only with the approval of the Contracting Parties in which they lie. 
  • Convention on Wetlands came into force for India on 1 February 1982. 
  • India presently has 26 sites designated as Wetlands of International Importance, with a surface area of 689,131 hectares.
  • Total 26 Sites are:
    1. Ashtamudi Wetland, (Kerala)
    2. Bhitarkanika Mangroves, (Orissa)
    3. Bhoj Wetland, (Madhya Pradesh)
    4. Chandra Taal, (Himachal Pradesh)
    5. Chilika Lake, (Orissa)
    6. Deepor Beel, (Assam)
    7. East Calcutta Wetlands, (West Bengal)
    8. Harike Wetland, (Punjab)
    9. Hokera Wetland, (Jammu and Kashmir)
    10. Kanjli Wetland, (Punjab)
    11. Keoladeo National Park, (Rajasthan)
    12. Kolleru Lake, (Andhra Pradesh)
    13. Loktak Lake, (Manipur)
    14. Nalsarovar Bird Sanctuary, (Gujarat)
    15. Point Calimere Wildlife and Bird Sanctuary, (Tamil Nadu)
    16. Pong Dam Lake, (Himachal Pradesh)
    17. Renuka Lake, (Himachal Pradesh)
    18. Ropar_Wetland, (Punjab)
    19. Rudrasagar Lake, (Tripura)
    20. Sambhar Lake, (Rajasthan)
    21. Sasthamkotta Lake, (Kerala)
    22. Surinsar-Mansar Lakes, (Jammu and Kashmir)
    23. Tsomoriri, (Jammu and Kashmir)
    24. Upper Ganga River (Brijghat to Narora Stretch), (Uttar Pradesh)
    25. Vembanad-Kol Wetland, (Kerala)
    26. Wular Lake, (Jammu and Kashmir)


Post a Comment