Featured Post

9th August 2016 Current Affairs Questions and Answers

9th August 2016 Current Affairs MCQs, Quiz, Questions : Current Affairs for August 2016 ,  Daily Multiple Choice Questions (MCQs) for In...

21st Law Commission from 1st September 2015 to 31st August 2018

Union Cabinet chaired by the Prime Minister Shri Narendra Modi, has given its approval on the Constitution of the 21st Law Commission of India, for a period of three years w.e.f. 1st September. 2015 to 31st August, 2018.
The 21st Law Commission will consist of:-
(i) a full-time Chairperson;
(ii) four full-time Members (including a Member-Secretary);
(iii) Secretary, Department of Legal Affairs as ex off do Member;
(iv) Secretary, Legislative Department as ex offcio Member; and
(v) not more than five part-time Members.
The Law Commission shall, on a reference made to it by the Central Government or suo-motu, undertake research in law and review of existing laws in India for making reforms therein and enacting new legislations. It shall also undertake studies and research for bringing reforms in the justice delivery systems for elimination of delay in procedures, speedy disposal of cases, reduction in cost of litigation etc.

About Law Commission of India:
  • The Law Commission of India is a non-statutory body constituted by the Government of lndia from time to time. 
  • The Commission was originally constituted in 1955 and is re-constituted every three years. 
  • The tenure of the 20th Law Commission was upto 31st August, 2015. 
  • Duration of 21st Law Commission of India is from 1st September. 2015 to 31st August, 2018
  • The various Law Commissions have been able to make important contribution towards the progressive development and codification of laws of the country. 
  • Law Commissions have so far submitted 262 reports.


Post a Comment