Featured Post

9th August 2016 Current Affairs Questions and Answers

9th August 2016 Current Affairs MCQs, Quiz, Questions : Current Affairs for August 2016 ,  Daily Multiple Choice Questions (MCQs) for In...

Justice Dipak Misra sworn in as new Chief Justice of India

Justice Dipak Misra has sworn in as the new Chief Justice of India. President Ram Nath Kovind today administered the oath of office to Justice Misra at Rashtrapati Bhawan. He replaced Chief Justice J S Khehar, who retired on 27th August 2017. Justice Misra will have a tenure of nearly 13 months. The ceremony was attended by Vice President M Venkaiah Naidu, Prime Minister Narendra Modi, Home Minister Rajnath Singh, Law Minister Ravi Shankar Prasad, Former Prime Minister Manmohan Singh and other distinguished people from different walks of life.
Born in October, 1953, Justice Misra was enrolled as an Advocate in 1977 and practiced in Constitutional, Civil, Criminal, Revenue, Service and Sales Tax matters in the Orissa High Court and the Service Tribunal.  He was appointed as an Additional Judge of the Orissa High Court in 1996 and became permanent Judge in December, 1997. He also served as the Chief Justice of Patna and Delhi High Courts. In 2011, Justice Misra was elevated as a Judge in the Supreme Court.


Post a Comment