Featured Post

9th August 2016 Current Affairs Questions and Answers

9th August 2016 Current Affairs MCQs, Quiz, Questions : Current Affairs for August 2016 ,  Daily Multiple Choice Questions (MCQs) for In...

KV Chowdary is New Central Vigilance Commissioner (CVC)

Former Chairman of the Central Board of Direct Taxes, K.V. Chowdary, was on Monday, appointed as the new Central Vigilance Commissioner, while the senior-most Information Commissioner, Vijai Sharma, is the new Chief Information Commissioner. T.M. Bhasin, Chairman & Managing Director, Indian Bank, has been appointed Vigilance Commissioner. The government and the opposition had on June 1, agreed on the names of the CIC and CVC, the posts that have been lying vacant for over nine months.  In April, Congress president Sonia Gandhi and party vice president Rahul Gandhi had attacked the Prime Minister over the delay in the appointments of chiefs of CIC, CVC and Lokpal saying the government feared transparency. Many RTI activists had also questioned the delay in the appointments.
 Meanwhile, Supreme Court lawyer Prashant Bhushan, had written to the Prime Minister Narendra Modi on May 20 to publicly disclose the names of persons shortlisted for appointment as Central Vigilance Commissioner (CVC). Senior Supreme Court advocate Ram Jethmalani too raised objections to making Mr. Chowdhry as the CVC. A selection panel headed by the Prime Minister, which includes leader of the principal opposition party, and senior cabinet ministers selects the CVC, CIC, vigilance commissioners and information commissioners. The Central Vigilance Commission is headed by a CVC and comprises two vigilance commissioners and today’s appointment constitutes the full Commission. At a ceremony held at 1230 hrs at Rashtrapati Bhavan, Shri K.V. Chowdary was sworn in as the Central Vigilance Commissioner and Shri Vijai Sharma was sworn in as Chief Information Commissioner. They made and subscribed the oath of their respective offices before the President.


Post a Comment