Featured Post

9th August 2016 Current Affairs Questions and Answers

9th August 2016 Current Affairs MCQs, Quiz, Questions : Current Affairs for August 2016 ,  Daily Multiple Choice Questions (MCQs) for In...

Pahlaj Nihalani appointed new censor board chief

Filmmaker Pahlaj Nihalani was appointed as the new censor board chairman along with nine other members.
The government also reconstituted the board appointing nine others as members including Vani Tripathi Tikoo and filmmakers Ashoke Pandit and Chandra Prakash Dwivedi. An official statement on Monday said that Nihalani was appointed as chairperson of the Central Board of Film Certification (CBFC) in an honorary capacity for a period of three years or until further orders, whichever is earlier.
Other eminent persons who have been named as members are film writer Mihir Bhuta, Syed Abdul Bari, Ramesh Patange, actor George Baker, actor-filmmaker Jeevitha and actor- playwright S Ve Shekhar.
Nihalani has produced films like "Aankhen", "Talaash: The Hunt Begins..." and "Shola Aur Shabnam". After Samson resigned last week, all members of the CBFC had also put in their papers. The government had strongly rebutted the charges levelled by Samson with I&B minister Arun Jaitley asserting that it maintains an arm's length distance from the film certification process.


Post a Comment